Dreaming

Wow, it’s been forever!  I’m not sure what happened; life, I guess.  I guess it’s that way for college students sometimes.  In any case, I’m sitting here today, on this surprisingly warm winter’s day, with the window cracked open like it will be in spring, and I’m dreaming.

I’m dreaming about going places.  I know most people do, but how many people want to go everywhere?  I do.  Oh, what I wouldn’t give to be out west tonight!  For those of you from the western U.S., I envy you.  I’ve never been, but it’s on my list.  

I’m told that the mountains out there are taller than my dreams, that the sky is as big as my imagination, that the stars are clearer than burning city lights, that the pure wildness is more freeing than school letting out at the end of the year.  I’m told it’s a dangerously beautiful place, a place one can be free.  Sure, there’s freedom over here in the east, too- I’ve experienced it on the Appalachian Trail, on top of Old Rag in Shenandoah NP, after reaching the summit of the Precipice in Acadia.  But I wonder how that feels compared to standing on Pike’s Peak, or looking out over the Grand Canyon, or feeling the Pacific surf’s spray,or looking up at redwoods.  For all those who know how it feels, you are very fortunate.  

But someday, I’ll know, too.  Because despite what people say -that I’m practical and logical- I’m really just a dreamer.  And tonight I’ll dream of places far away.  

About lightwriter15

I am an aspiring journalist and photographer (for now!) studying in the beautiful state of Kentucky. However, PA is where I call home. God is my first love and writing, photography, food, music, and the outdoors are my passions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

